Evangelion: A Chronological Harmony of the Four Gospels


Buy on Amazon

SKU: EVAN01-GIES Category:


Gospel harmonies are certainly not a recent innovation. In fact, evidence of the first harmony emerged soon after the Apostle John was inspired by the Holy Spirit to pen his account of the Gospel. At the latest, a harmony of the four Gospels was available by about 160 A.D., when Tatian compiled his famous Diatessaron. Since then, there has been no paucity of efforts to continue this endeavor.

Evangelion is a synthetic Gospel harmony that meticulously arranges the four Gospels (Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John) into a single, chronological narrative of the life and teachings of Jesus Christ. It is the product of strict exegesis combined with a deep respect for the conservative history and traditions of the Church. Sequencing such a monumental work requires a careful examination of internal and external evidence. Accordingly, a wide range of sources ancient to modern were consulted, including Tatian’s Diatessaron, Toynard’s Evangeliorum Harmonia, Broadus’ and A.T. Robertson’s A Harmony of the Gospels, and more. For the sake of exegetical accuracy and modern readability, Evangelion uses the text of the Evangelical Heritage Version® (EHV®).

The following are some of the key features of this harmony:

  • A single, continuous narrative in chronological order
  • Precise sequencing based on internal and external evidence
  • Comprehensive synthesis of content from all four Gospels
  • The Evangelical Heritage Version® (EHV®) as source of text
  • For all students of God’s Word, including pastors, teachers, and professors